Modern India Expansion of British Power In Bengal for SSC and other Competitive Exams

Modern India Expansion of British Power In Bengal is important topic for government job preparation. this is quick revision notes that will be beneficial for your preparation.


Murshil Quli Khan (1717-27) : In 1717, Murshid Quli Khan was appointed as Governor by Mugal Emperor Farrukh Siyar. Grant of the Governorship of Orissa also to him by Farrukh Siyar in 1719. He transferred the capital of Bengal from Dacca to Murshidabad.
Shujauddin(1727-39) : He was the son-in-law of Murshid Quli Khan. He was granted the Governorship of Bihar by Mughal emperor Muhammad Shah ‘Rangeela’ in 1733.
Sarfaraj Khan(1739-40): He was the son of Shujauddin and was murdered by Alivardi Khan, the deputy Governor of Bihar, in 1740.
Alivardi Khan(1740-56): Legalised his usurpation by receiving a farman from Mughal Emperor Muhammad Shah ‘Rangeela’ after paying him Rs. 2 Crores. He prevented the English and the French from fortifying their factories at Calcutta and Chandranagore respectively.
Sirajuddaula :(1756-57):Alivardi Khan was succeeded by his grandson Sirajuddaula.
Sirajuddaula seized the English factory at kasimbazar. On 20th june, 1756,Fort William surrendered but Robert Clive recovered Calcutta.
On 2nd Jan. 1757, Treaty of Alinagar was signed, Where by Siraj Conceded practically all the demands. British then captured Chandranagore, the French Settlement, on March 1757.
The Battle of Plassey was fought on 23 June, 1757. Owing to the conspiracy the Nawab was defeated.
The following betrayed the Nawab:
Mir Jafar : Mir Bakshi
Manikchand : officer in charge of Calcutta
Amichand : Rich sikh merchant
Jagat Seth: Biggest banker of Bengal
Khadim Khan : Commanded a large number of Nawab’s troops.
Mir Jafar: (1757-60):The company was granted undisputed right to free trade in Bengal, Bihar and Orissa. It received the Zamindari of 24 Parganas. Mir Jafar, however, fell into arrears and was forced to abdicate in favour of his son-in-law Mir Qasim.
Mir Qasim:(1760-64): Mir Qasim ceded Burdwan, Midnapore and Chittagong. He shifted his capital from Murshidabad to Munger. Mir Qasim Soon revolted as he was angry with the British for misusing the dastak (free duty passes) However having been defeated by the British, he fled to Awadh, where he formed a confederacy with Awadh ruler Shujaddaula and Mughal emperor Shah Alam II.
The Battle of Buxar (1764) : Mir, Qasim, Shujauddaula and Shah Alam II were Defeted by Munro.
Mir Jafar was again placed on the throne.
Successors of Mir Qasim : Mir Jafar(1764-65), Nazmuddaulah(1765-66), Saifuddaula (1766-70), Mubaraquddaula(1770- 72) .
On Mir Jafar’s death, his son Nazmuddaulah was placed on the throne and Signed a treaty on 20th feb, 1765 by which the Nawab was to disband most of his army and to administer Bengal through a Deputy Subedar nominated by the Company.
Clive Concluded two separate treaties of Allahabad with Shah Alam II 12 aug, 1765 and Shujauddaula ( 16 Aug, 1765).
Dual Government of Bengal : (1765 -72)
Dual Government of Bengal started in 1765
The Company acquired both Diwani and Nizamat rights from Nazmuddaula, the Nawab of Bengal. But the company did not take over direct administration and revenue collection.
Warren Hastings ended the dual system of Government in 1772.

Read more

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *